Uh oh! You're using an unsupported browser.

It appears you're using Microsoft Internet Explorer or an early version of Edge. To fully enjoy this website — and pretty much every modern website in existence — we suggest you upgrade to Chrome or Firefox. You'll be happier.

Classical Music

Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Bartok. Corelli, Clara, Crumb, Coriglilano. Schubert, Schumann, Shostakovich….

The list of great classical composers is long, and there are many ways to learn and perform their music at Upper Valley Music Center.

Upper valley chamber orchestra performance
Chamber music in the Bach room with violin, cello and piano
More Info

Deepen Your Classical Music Understanding

Sheet music

How Music Works: Part 1 and 2

Spring 2023: February 2-March 30
Thursdays 10:45 am - 12:45 pm
Fall 2022: September 22-November 10

Unlock the mysteries of music in this introduction to music theory.

Learn More
student violinists with conductor

Music Theory for Performers

Fall 2021: September 20-January 17
Mondays 5-5:45 pm

Explore the principles underlying the interplay of the basic building blocks in a musical work.

Learn More
Concentration on piano 4-hand music.

Piano Group Class (Adults)

Spring 2023: March 1-May 10
Fall 2022: November 2 -January 18
Wednesdays, 4-5 pm
UVMC Bach Room

For adults who play piano to perform for each other in a supportive environment.

Learn More
Adults practicing the art of voice performance

Voice Performance Class

Spring 2023: February 7-May 2
Fall 2022: September 27 - December 13
Tuesdays 11 am-12 pm*, every other week
UVMC Bach Room

This engaging and supportive class allows adult students to hone their performance skills.

Learn More

Upcoming Events

Benjamin Kulp, cello, and William Ogmundson, piano

Sunday, February 12,
3:00 pm
to 4:30 pm EST
Freewill donation
First Congregational Church of Lebanon

Ben Kulp and William Ogmundson perform works for cello and piano.

Learn More
a string quartet under a tent

Chamber Music Sight Reading Party – Adults

Friday, February 17,
5:30 pm
to 7:00 pm EST
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every month that begins at 5:30 pm on day First of the month, repeating until Saturday, June 4, 2022

One event on Friday, September 16, 2022 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, October 21, 2022 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, November 11, 2022 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, December 9, 2022 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, January 13, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, February 17, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, March 17, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, March 31, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, April 21, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, May 12, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, May 26, 2023 at 5:30 pm

Free- RSVP Required
Upper Valley Music Center

Join UVMC and fellow chamber music lovers to play together!

Learn More

Chamber Music Sight Reading Parties – Students

Friday, March 3,
5:30 pm
to 7:00 pm EST
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every month that begins at 5:30 pm on day Third of the month, repeating until Friday, May 27, 2022

One event on Friday, November 4, 2022 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, December 2, 2022 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, January 6, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, March 3, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, April 7, 2023 at 5:30 pm

One event on Friday, May 5, 2023 at 5:30 pm

Free - RSVP Required

Join UVMC and fellow music students to play chamber music together!

Learn More
See all events »